Perceived Judgement

As a tolerant woman who has seen “it all” I can undoubtedly guess what is on any persons mind. I didn’t say I guess correctly.  The problem I have is my own wild mind.  I often times forget that when I am formulating my theories on why people act a certain way, I am GUESSING.   When I forget that I am just guessing, I essentially replace REALITY with my GUESSES and they are seldom mild on  the spectrum of possibilities.

For example,  if I wonder why a sales clerk is behaving in a cranky way,  I might jump to the assumption that she doesn’t like me.  I then might compute the reasons she doesn’t think I am amazing.

I would utter to myself.  “Is it because she saw me sniff my armpit? I need to be more discreet.” or I would re-cap all of the interactions with the sales clerk trying to figure out why I am the target of her grumpy daggers.

This is an extremely selfish point of view!  I am the center of MY world, but not the cashier’s world too.  How absurd is it that I am jumping to conclusions about the motives for other people and how they relate to ME and MY world, which all about me.

That is a wake up call people.

How selfish is it to GUESS what is going on in someone else’s head?  If they know your guessing, should they just ease your wretched worry by explaining?

How conceited must I be to continue pretending like someone else’s odd or uncharacteristic behavior is something I caused?

How cruel is it to GUESS about another persons reasons, then to consider you home-made hypothesis to be the truth?

 

Is it wrong to assume things if your gut instinct tells you the whole truth is not available?

Leave a Reply

